Visa Fee Exemption


1. Citizens of the countries below are exempt from visa fees ( no charge ).

Australia, New Zealand
Bangladesh, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, Philippines, British Nationals Overseas (Hong Kong), Hong Kong S.A.R., Macao S.A.R.
 North America
Canada, United States
 Central and South America
Bahamas, Barbados, Colombia, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Honduras, Mexico, Suriname
Armenia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech, Denmark, Estonia, Georgia, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyz, Latbia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Malta, Moldova, Monaco, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Rumania, Russia, San Marino, Slovak, Slovenia, Spein, Sweden, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Ukraine, Uzbekistan
 Middle East
Israel, Jordan
Lesotho, Mauritius

Philippines: Only for "Temporary Visitors" for staying in Japan within 90 days.
Rumania: Only for "Temporary Visitors" for staying in Japan within 90 days.

2. For all other countries (including FSM citizens)

 For a list of visa application fees, click here.


  • Whether you need to obtain a visa in order to enter Japan differs according to the purpose of visit, length of your stay, your nationality, etc. Travelers from certain countries may be eligible to visit Japan without a visa under visa exemption arrangements.
  • Visa fees are revised on April 1st each year and waived for certain nationalities. Visa fees must be paid with cash. Personal checks and credit cards are not accepted. In principle, multiple-entry visas are only issued to nationals of countries that have reciprocal arrangements with Japan.