Issuance of Multiple Entry Visas for Short-term Stay for Nationals of Pacific Islands Countries

1      The Government of Japan has decided to begin issuance of multiple entry visas for short-term stay to nationals of *Pacific Islands Countries (ordinary passport holders) from August 1st, 2018.
*Pacific Island Countries: FSM, Kiribati, Samoa, Solomon, Tuvalu, Tonga, Nauru, Vanuatu, PNG, Palau, Fiji, RMI
2      This decision was announced at the 8th Pacific Islands Leaders Meeting (PALM8) on May 18th to19thof this year in Fukushima, Japan. Dialogue shall come into effect for applications submitted on or after August 1st.
3      The multiple entry visas will be issued at all the Japanese Embassies and Consulate Generals.
4      It is expected that this will help increase the number of each countries tourists to Japan and improve convenience in business activities, thus further developing bilateral exchanges between Japan and Pacific Islands Countries.
Multiple entry visas for short-term stay for nationals of Pacific Islands Countries (ordinary passport holders)
Recipient: Those who have fulfilled certain conditions and who have an ordinary Machine-Readable passport (MRP) in compliance with International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) standards
Period of stay: 30days
Terms of validity: Up to three years
Where to apply: Any Embassy / Consulate General / Consulate of Japan in any country.
Note: The details including the specific application documents, please click here.